Former Trump administration Press Secretary Sean Spicer announced Wednesday that he will not resign from the Naval Academy Board and will instead join a lawsuit against the Biden administration.

Spicer made the announcement during his Newsmax show, “Spicer & Company,” after receiving an email from the Biden camp informing him that if he does not resign by 6 p.m. Wednesday, he will be fired from the board.

“All Trump appointees, including myself, have been kicked off the boards of the United States Naval Academy Air Force Academy in West Point in an unprecedented move by the Biden administration,” Spicer announced on-air.

“I’m announcing tonight for the first time that I will not be submitting my resignation and I will be joining a lawsuit to fight this,” he added.

Earlier in the day, White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki stated that Spicer and 17 other officials are not “qualified” to serve on the board and does not “align” with the “values” of the Biden administration.

Officials received a curt letter, one dated today, saying “Please submit your resignation to me by the close of business today. Should we not receive your resignation, your position with the Board will be terminated effective 6:00 pm tonight. Thank you.”


Former senior counselor to the President Kellyanne Conway, former national security adviser H.R. McMaster, and former director of the Office of Management and Budget Russell Vought are among the above officials.

Conway responded to the White House with her own letter on Twitter, saying, “President Biden, I’m not resigning, but you should.”

She mentioned that she spoke with “[t]hree former Directors of Presidential Personnel” who had informed her “that this request is a break from presidential norms.”

Conway added that the move will result in “faithful and willing public servants” being “discouraged or thwarted from service. Our service academies will risk being further politicized and polarized.”

List of Trump appointees on the non-partisan military advisory boards

The Biden administration on Wednesday removed 18 appointees named to U.S. military academy boards by Donald Trump in the final months of the Republican president’s term in office, according to the White House.

The list of appointees includes:

  • Kellyanne Conway: Former senior counselor to the president who was picked for the Air Force Academy advisory board.
  • Sean Spicer: Ex-press secretary who Trump picked for the Naval Academy Board of visitors.
  • H.R. McMaster: Former national security adviser appointed to the West Point advisory board.
  • Russell Vought: Trump’s former director of the Office of Management and Budget, appointed to the Naval Academy’s board
  • Heidi Stirrup and Michael Wynne: Appointed to the board of the Air Force Academy.
  • Retired Gen. John Keane, Retired Col. Douglas Macgregor, Former U.S. Army North commander Guy Swan III, Meaghan Mobbs, and David Urban: All appointed to the West Point board
List of 12 Trump appointees on the non-partisan military advisory boards
The Biden administration is demanding the resignations of 18 officials appointed by former President Trump to military service academy boards including (from l-r) Sean Spicer, Kellyanne Conway and former National Security Adviser H.R. McMaster
List of 12 Trump appointees on the non-partisan military advisory boards
David Urban, Gen Jake Keane, and Russ Vought were all sent letters demanding they resign or be dismissed at 6pm on Wednesday evening

More stories: